Athens opens NTL golf season with win.

By: The Review | Towanda Daily Review | August 19, 2014 | Photo courtesy The Review


2014 Golf at Shepard Hills Country ClubThe NTL golf season kicked off on Monday with the Athens Wildcats picking up the victory with a team score of 349.

Athens was more than 20 shots ahead of any other team as Mansfield took second at 372, followed by Towanda at 378 and Sayre at the same score.

Sayre was fourth, Northern Tioga was fifth at 398, Wellsboro was sixth at 418 and NEB finished at 448.

Before the match former Sayre coach Scott Taylor, who passed away this year, was honored. The league renamed the NTL Sportsmanship Award in his honor.

Wyalusing has four golfers playing as independents and Holdan Hitchcock earned medalist honors with a round of 79.

Athens was led by Zach Sitzman at 81 and Jacob Aquilio and D.J. Springstead each shot 89, while Patrick Cole rounded out the top four with a 90.

Ryan Kennedy shot a 93 and Sam Rockwell shot a 101.

Mansfield got an 81 from Ryan Campbell and Jarrod Burd shot 92, while JP Shaw shot a 94. Josh Everetts rounded out the top four with a 105. Carl Dinger shot 108 and Patrick Ross shot a 110.

Towanda was led by Nick Innocenzo with a round of 80. Mitch Shoemaker and Michael Johnson each shot 95 and Ryan Chilson rounded out the top five with a 108.

Zach Lantz had a 111 and Chandler Dunn shot 114.

Sayre got an 82 from Ryan Murrelle and Corey Perry shot 96 and Jordan Buck shot a 97. Aaron Wilhem had a round of 103. Tyler Colburn shot 132 and Dylan Conklin shot a 138.

Towanda edged Sayre because of the 111 by Lantz as the fifth golfer over the 132 of Colburn.

Northern Tioga got a round of 82 from Nick Cevette and Caleb Fitzwater shot a 97. Alex Abbott shot a 103 and Riley Thompson rounded out the top four with a 116.

Wellsboro was led by Brett Kendrick at 82 and Aidan Moore shot 105, while Ryan Reese shot 108 and Kyle Reese shot 123. Charles Graner shot 125 and Stone Alexander shot a 130.

NEB got a round of 110 from Michael Wallitsch and Sawyer Russell also shot 110. Nathaniel Vandervort and Nik Geiser each shot 114, while Jared Harris shot 116.

Wyalusing's other three independent golfers were Scott Eberlin (98), Alex Dake (123) and Drew Gervin (134).

The NTL is at River Valley on Tuesday, August 26.